Triple Crown 2022 Betting

Author Image Author
Last Updated: 

The US Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is the pinnacle of American horse racing, beginning with the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes in May, and ending with the Belmont Stakes in June.

Bell Icon
Affiliate Disclosure: At, we want to ensure that players are matched with the right casino and sportsbook offers for them. For this reason, some of the recommended site links are affiliate links. More

How To Bet On The Triple Crown

The Triple Crown betting attracts more than $300million in bets each year in the US alone. Each race in the Triple Crown has its own betting markets, which include the ‘win’, ‘place’, and ‘show’ standard horse racing wagers, and also these exotic bets:

  1. Exacta - Pick the first and second horse home in any race, in the correct order.
  2. Trifecta - Predicted the first three home in the right order.
  3. Superfecta - Select the first four to finish the race in the right order.
  4. Quinella - This bet boxes an Exacta, meaning you still win as long as the two picks finish in the first two, regardless of their order. You can also box a Trifecta and Superfecta.
  5. Future Wager - Before the Kentucky Derby, you can bet on the Kentucky Derby Future Wager market. This allows punters to bet early on the potential Derby horse they think will earn a place in the race, and go on to win. Typically, Future Wagers offer larger payouts than betting the same horse on the day of the race, because they are placed before the horse has been confirmed to run.

You can bet on the Triple Crown races at the racecourses on raceday and online, including on betting sites outside the US, with many bookies offering Triple Crown betting markets, such is the international appeal of the Three Jewels.

What Are The Triple Crown Races?

Three races make up the US Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, each run at a different racecourse, in a different stakes, and over a different distance, with just two constants: they are all only open to three-year-old thoroughbreds and are run on dirt tracks.

  1. The Kentucky Derby - Purse $2million

    Held at Churchill Downs Racecourse in Louisville, Kentucky on the first Saturday in May, the Kentucky Derby is run over a distance of 1 1/4 miles on Churchill Downs’s dirt oval and is known as The Run for the Roses because the winner is draped in a blanket of roses. The field is limited to 20 runners, all of which earn their berth by accumulating points on the Road to the Kentucky Derby circuit in the US, UK, Europe, and Japan.

  2. The Preakness Stakes - Purse $1.5million

    Held at Pimlico Racecourse in Baltimore, Maryland on the third Saturday in May, the Preakness Stakes is run over a distance of 1m 1 1/12 furlongs on Pimlico’s dirt oval and is known as The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans because the winner is draped in a blanket of black-eyed susan flowers. The field is limited to 14 runners, the only guaranteed starting places going to the entries that earned purse money in the Kentucky Derby. All other places are given based on total prize money.

  3. The Belmont Stakes - Purse $1.5million

    Held at Belmont Park Racecourse in Elmont, New York on the first or second Saturday in June, the Belmont Stakes is the longest of the Triple Crown races at 1 1/2 miles and is thus known as The Test of the Champion. It is run on Belmont’s uniquely large 1 1/2 mile round dirt course, nicknamed ‘Big Sandy’, the winner presented with a blanket of carnations. The field is limited to 16 runners, the only guaranteed starting places going to the entries that earned purse money in the Kentucky Derby or Preakness Stakes. All other places are given based on total prize money.

Top Triple Crown Betting Tips

The Triple Crown is three separate races, that if won together achieve a horse and its connections the highest honour in US horse racing. Most Triple Crown betting focusses on each race individually. These betting tips can help you with your horse racing betting strategy:

Recent Triple Crown Winners’s Odds

The Triple Crown has been won by 13 horses, beginning with Sir Barton in 1919, who was the first horse to win the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. Betting on the Triple Crown has always been around in some form, but since it became regulated, these are the two Triple Crown winners’s odds:

YearHorseKentucky Derby OddsPreakness Stakes OddsBelmont Stakes Odds
2018Justify29/10f / $7.802/5f / $2.804/5f / $3.60
2015American Pharoah29/10f / $7.809/10f / $2.803/4f / $3.50

All Triple Crown Winners

2018JustifyMike SmithBob BaffertChina Horse Club / WinStar Farms
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob BaffertAhmed Zayat
1978AffirmedSteve CauthenLaz BarreraHarbor View Farm
1977Seattle SlewJean CruguetWilliam H. Turner JrMickey & Karen Taylor, Tayhill Stable, Jim Hill et al
1973SecretariatRon TurcotteLucien LaurinMeadow Stable
1948CitationEddie ArcaroHorace A. JonesCalumet Farms
1943Count FleetJohnny LongdenDon MaeronFannie Hertz
1941WhirlawayEddie ArcaroBen A. JonesCalumet Farm
1937War AdmiralCharles KurtsingerGeorge ConwaySamuel D Riddle
1935OmahaWillie SaundersJim FitzsimmonsBelair Stud
1930Gallant FoxEarl SandeJim FitzsimmonsBelair Stud
1919Sir BartonJohnny LoftusH. Guy BedwellJ. K. L. Ross

Triple Crown History

The Triple Crown was a term conjured up by Daily Racing Form journalist Charles Hatton in the 1930s. In England, the term was being used to describe a similar series, beginning with the 2,000 Guineas, running on to the Epsom Derby and concluding with the St. Leger, each race longer than the next, and only open to three-year-old thoroughbreds

Hatton saw the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes as US horse racing’s equivalents, and as he continued to refer to the trio collectively as the Triple Crown, owners and trainers began to specifically target these contests.

By the 1940s, newspapers routinely used the term and The Triple Crown title was officially inaugurated in December 1950 at the annual awards dinner of the Thorougbred Racing Associations in New York. They retroactively awarded the title to the first horse to achieve the Triple Crown of victories, 1919 winner Sir Barton, and at following dinners did the same for others to have won the three races pre-1950.

Author Image Author
Last Updated: 
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linkedin Icon Email Icon Copy Link Icon