State of Origin 2022 Betting

Author Image Author
Last Updated: 
Bell Icon
Affiliate Disclosure: At, we want to ensure that players are matched with the right casino and sportsbook offers for them. For this reason, some of the recommended site links are affiliate links. More

State of Origin Betting Tips

Brilliant players come from both Queensland and New South Wales every year, so player availability is a key factor before you take a look at State of Origin betting odds.

Given the series is played in the middle of the NRL season, injuries are a natural occurrence ahead of State of Origin. A key player being out for either side could be the difference between the odds being in a team’s favour or placing them as rank betting outsiders.

In 2021, it’s NSW that will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing State of Origin series last year.

Amid unusual circumstances due to the Covid pandemic, NSW were the heavy State of Origin betting favourites. A young Queensland side got the better of the Blues however, winning the first match with a stunning second half comeback before a professional third game performance sealed the series win.

The Maroons will go into this campaign with head coach Kevin Walters taking over the mantle from Wayne Bennett, who stood down from the role after guiding Queensland to that improbable win. Can Walters repeat the magic or will the Blues bounce back in the best way possible?

We’ll have to wait until the 2021 State of Origin dates roll around to find out that answer.

State of Origin 2021 Odds

What are the odds for State of Origin this year? Check them out below.

Series WinnerBetting Odds
New South Wales1.70

State of Origin 2021 Schedule

After the Covid pandemic forced last year’s series to be played at the conclusion of the 2020 NRL season, the State of Origin dates revert back to their regular mid-season slot. The 2021 State of Origin dates for the upcoming series can be found below.

State of Origin Game IJune 9, 2021Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
State of Origin Game IIJune 27, 2021Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
State of Origin Game IIIJuly 14, 2021Stadium Australia, Sydney

The Best State of Origin Betting Markets

The State of Origin is one of the hallmark events of the Australian sports calendar year-after-year, so it stands to reason that it is one of our favourite rugby league betting markets. Whether you're a seasoned punter or new to sports betting, it's a hugely exciting match-up to have a bet on.

Before you take a look at our State of Origin betting tips to find yourself a winner, get familiar with the betting markets you'll come across with the bookmaker.

Head to Head

The head to head State of Origin betting market is as simple as it gets. You can bet on either Queensland or New South Wales to win a particular State of Origin game with this market, with bookies offering head to head odds on the series opener, Game II, and the Game III decider. You can also bet on your prediction for overall series winner.

Wally Lewis Medal Winner

The Wally Lewis Medal is awarded to the best player across all three games of the State of Origin series. Wally Lewis Medal betting odds open as the State of Origin betting odds markets open up and stay open right up until the medal is awarded.

Line and Handicap Betting

State of Origin betting in the line and handicap market sees one of the teams get either a head-start or a deficit, depending on the probability of match. Heading into the 2021 NRL State of Origin series, the Queensland Maroons go in as +2.5 underdogs, which means anyone who takes that handicap market will win if Queensland either win, or lose by two points or less.

First Try Scorer

First try scorer betting is simple. You just select the player you think will score the first try of the match and place your bet. There is also the option to back the player who you think will score the first try for their respective team, even if that doesn't turn out to be the first try of the match.

Margin Betting

Margin betting in the State of Origin market is the process of picking the team you want to win and how many points they will win by. Margin betting can be between a range, with NRL common ranges being from 1-12 or 13+. If punters want to bet on an exact winning margin, that's another State of Origin betting market option that's available with top online gambling sites.

State of Origin History

Regarded as the greatest rivalry in Australian sport, State of Origin was born back in 1980, with the first full series played in 1982. The series pits the best players from the National Rugby League competition against each other in a bitter contest that sees big hits, plenty of brawling and a lot of bad blood.

Rugby League is hugely popular in the states of New South Wales and Queensland but for decades Queensland's best players had played their club football in NSW, meaning they had to represent the Blues in inter-state representative games.

For years NSW dominated their northern neighbours. Constant beatings at the hands of the Blues added fuel to the rivalry. Then, in 1980, it was decided that the Maroons would be able to field their stars who played for clubs in Sydney - meaning players would play for their state of origin. In a one-off match, Queensland upset NSW and Maroons skipper Arthur Beetson punched his Parramatta teammate Mick Cronin. The crowd roared and State of Origin was born.

Over four decades later and the annual series is watched by millions around the world and played in front of sold-out stadiums around Australia. Such is its popularity that there has been talk about taking it to Wembley Stadium in London in the future.

In total 39 full series have been played, with Queensland winning 22, NSW winning 14 and two drawn series.

The Maroons and Blues rivalry is not just the most bitter in the Australian sporting landscape, but the fixture also typically throws up remarkable contests that live long in the memory. Very rarely does a team win all three games of the State of Origin series, with that feat only achieved twice since 2000.

Previous State of Origin Winners

YearWinnerWinsLossesDrawsSeries Winner
2019New South Wales210New South Wales
2018New South Wales210New South Wales
2014New South Wales210New South Wales
2005New South Wales210New South Wales
2004New South Wales210New South Wales
2003New South Wales210New South Wales
2000New South Wales300New South Wales
1997New South Wales210New South Wales
1996New South Wales300New South Wales
1994New South Wales210New South Wales
1993New South Wales210New South Wales
1992New South Wales210New South Wales
1990New South Wales210New South Wales
1986New South Wales300New South Wales
1985New South Wales210New South Wales

Related Betting Guides


When is State of Origin 2021?

Down Arrow

Where will State of Origin 2021 take place?

Down Arrow

Who is favourite to win State of Origin 2021?

Down Arrow

Can I bet on State of Origin 2021?

Down Arrow

Will crowds be in attendance at State of Origin 2021?

Down Arrow
Author Image Author
Last Updated: 
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linkedin Icon Email Icon Copy Link Icon