Rugby World Cup 2023 Betting

888 Sign Up Offer
Bet Now
18+. T&C Apply

Welcome to the ultimate Rugby World Cup betting guide!

Here you’ll find everything a bettor needs to know for this prestigious rugby union tournament, including the best online sportsbooks to bet with, exclusive sign-up bonuses, expert betting guides and the latest rugby news to consider before placing your bet!

Recommended Rugby World Cup Sites

shield of trust Secure trusted partners Trusted star verified Verified
  1. 1

    Deposit NZ$10, Get NZ$30 in Free Bets
    Promo Code: 30FB

  2. 2

    Matched bet up to $100

  3. 3

    Bet $20 Get $20 in Free Bets
    Promo Code: R20

  4. 4

    Get your 100% up to $100 Welcome Offer

  5. 5

    Open Account Offer - Up to $100 in Bet Credits for New Customers at Bet365

  6. 6

    Up to $1000 in your first three deposits

  7. 7

    Deposit NZ$50, Get a NZ$50 Free Bet

  8. 8

    Deposit NZ$20, Get a NZ$20 Free Bets + 100 Free Spins

  9. 9

    Deposit NZ$10, Get a NZ$20 Free Bet

  10. 10

    100% bonus up to $100 on your first deposit

Advertiser Disclosure
Every online gambler deserves a safe and fair place to play. Our mission at is to create a safe online environment for players through free, impartial and independent reviews of New Zealand's best online gambling companies so that you can play with confidence and security. All ratings and reviews are made independently of the operator by our team of gaming experts and with every company being fully licensed to operate in the US they can be trusted to offer fair play. We accept compensation from the companies advertised on this page and this may affect the brand positioning. We endeavour to continuously update this list so we can bring you the most current sites and the best available offers but we cannot review every site in the market.

Rugby World Cup Betting Tips

Rugby World Cup 2023

The 2023 Rugby World Cup will be staged in France from September 08 to October 21. Having already hosted a Football World Cup, France will be well equipped with a plethora of top class stadia.

Of the 20 teams competing at the 2023 event, 12 will be handed automatic qualification having finished in the top three in their respective pools at the last Rugby World Cup in 2019. The remaining eight places will be determined via regional qualifying competitions.

The 20 teams have already been divided out into four pools of five, with the top two from each advancing to the quarter-finals, at which point the tournament assumes a knockout format.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is the Rugby World Cup 2023?

How long will the Rugby World Cup 2023 last for?

Who are favourites to win the Rugby World Cup 2023?

How to watch the Rugby World Cup 2023?

BrandTotal SportsCash OutBet BuilderFree Bet ValueVisit Site
33 Yes Yes 30
28 Yes Yes 10
33 Yes Yes 50

Tournament Betting Markets

Rugby World Cup Free Bets

The best rugby betting sites will approach the tournament with a range of offers to entice bettors, with competition for custom usually extremely high. That works in favour of the punter, who can capitalise on an array of sign-up offers in particular, many of which will incorporate free bets.

The best Rugby World Cup free bets will emerge in the weeks and days leading up to the beginning of the tournament’s opening game. They will vary in type, with the most popular likely to be a Matched Free Bet, whereby bookmakers duplicate the user’s initial deposit amount and make it available as a free bet.

Others may offer grossly inflated odds on the tournament favourites in the outright betting for new customers only. However, each bookmaker will have its own set of rules surrounding their free bet offers and how any winnings may be used, so be sure to read the individual terms so you know exactly what it is you’re signing up for.

BrandFree Bet ValueLoyalty ProgrammeFree Bet ExpiryBonusVisit Site
20 No 7 Days Deposit NZ$20, Get a NZ$20 Free Bet
20 Yes 7 Days Deposit NZ$20, Get a NZ$20 Free Bets + 100 Free Spins
30 Yes 7 Days Deposit NZ$10, Get NZ$30 in Free Bets

What is the Rugby World Cup?

The Rugby World Cup is the pinnacle tournament in men’s international rugby union and has been held every four years since the inaugural event in 1987. It is contested between 20 of the best international teams.

Generally, Southern Hemisphere nations tend to be stronger than their Northern counterparts, with New Zealand, Australia and South Africa traditionally very strong and each has won the Rugby World Cup multiple times.

However, the Northern Hemisphere – specifically western Europe – does produce some of the best teams in international rugby, with former winners England usually highly ranked as well as Ireland and Wales and must be taken into account when considering your rugby betting strategy.

According to World Rugby themselves, with four billion television viewers of the 2015 event, the Rugby World Cup is the third biggest sporting event on the planet, behind only the FIFA football World Cup and the Olympics. However, many sources contradict that belief.

Take a look at our list of best acca insurance bookies below so if one leg lets you down you'll get a refund!

BrandSports with Cash OutAcca InsuranceBet BuilderIn-Play SportsVisit Site
33 Yes Yes 33
30 No No 30
28 No Yes 14

Previous Rugby World Cup Winners

YearWinning TeamRunners-Up
2019South AfricaEngland
2015New ZealandAustralia
2011New ZealandFrance
2007South AfricaEngland
1995South AfricaNew Zealand
1987New ZealandFrance

Related: Check out New Betting Sites For bonuses and offers.

Related Betting Guides



Hi, I'm Dean Ryan

"A passionate sports betting broadcaster and journalist with over 15 years spent in the gambling industry."

  • Sports Betting
  • Odds Compiling
  • Horse Racing

Reviewer since June 2016