Who Will Win PFA Young Player Of The Year?

Who Will Win PFA Young Player Of The Year?
© PA

There is around a third of the 2022/23 campaign remaining, but the best bookmakers are beginning to turn their attention to the end-of-season awards.

Votes for prizes such as the PFA Young Player of the Year usually need to be submitted in March, so we are only a few weeks away from decision time. 

There are a number of contenders for the prize, including several stars battling it out for the Premier League title. 

We will not find out the winner until May or June, with the 2022 winner Phil Foden no longer eligible for the award. 

Indeed, to qualify players must have been aged 21 or under as of 1 July 2022.

PFA Young Player Of The Year Odds

Erling Haaland4/11BetVictor
Bukayo Saka9/4William Hill
Gabriel Martinelli12/110Bet
William Saliba14/110Bet
Alejandro Garnacho40/1BetVictor
Michael Olise50/110Bet
Jacob Ramsey66/1William Hill

Haaland Is Odds-On Favourite To Scoop The Prize

Unsurprisingly, Erling Haaland is the odds-on favourite with football betting sites to be voted PFA Young Player of the Year at 4/11

The Norway international has enjoyed a magnificent debut campaign in the country of his birth, with the Manchester City man on course to break several scoring records.

Erling Haaland is in pole position to win the Golden Boot, having opened up a significant lead at the top of the goal charts. 

He will also be a leading candidate to win the senior Player of the Year prize, as he attempts to follow in the footsteps of Gareth Bale (2013), Cristiano Ronaldo (2007) and Andy Gray (1977) in claiming the double.

Haaland suffered a slight dip in form in January and February, but UK bookmakers do not believe that will be enough to stop him missing out on the award.

Saka Has Been Driving Force Behind Arsenal’s Challenge

In competing for the Premier League title, Arsenal have exceeded expectations this season. 

No player has done more to help them stay in the race than Bukayo Saka, who has been the driving force behind his boyhood club’s challenge.

Votes will be cast before the outcome of the title race is known, but Saka stands a chance regardless of whether or not Arsenal get over the line. 

Such is the maturity and intelligence with which he plays, it is easy to forget that the England international is still only 21 years old.

Saka, who is available at a best price of 9/4 with William Hill to win the PFA Young Player of the Year prize, is also looking to become the first Arsenal player to be named the club’s Player of the Season for three campaigns on the bounce since Thierry Henry.

Established 2001
Sports with Cash Out
Cash Out - InPlay
Cash Out - Auto
Cash Out - Partial
18+. New Customers only. Bet £10* & Get £30* in Free Bets. Sign up, deposit between £5* and £10* to your account and bet365 will give you three times that value in Free Bets when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Registration Required. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply.
Established 2020
Sports with Cash Out
Cash Out - InPlay
Cash Out - Auto
Cash Out - Partial
18+, Welcome Bonus: New Players only, 1st Deposit, Min Deposit,: £10, Max. Free Bet amount £10. valid for 14 days, bets must be placed at odds of 1/1 or greater and be settled within 14 days of placement. System bets not eligible. Neteller,Skrill and Paypal not eligible. T&Cs apply
Established 1997
Sports with Cash Out
Cash Out - InPlay
Cash Out - Auto
Cash Out - Partial
Min deposit £10 • A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 • Min odds 1/2 (1.50) • Free Bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days • Free Bet stakes not included in returns • Casino Bonus Extra Spins must be claimed within 7 days and expires after 14 days • Bonus Extra Spins valid on selected Casino games only • Bonus wins capped at £500, excluding Jackpot wins • To withdraw any winnings from your Extra Spins, you’ll first have to use all of them • T&Cs apply..

Two More Gunners In Contention In Martinelli And Saliba

One factor that could count against Saka is vote-splitting, with his team-mates Gabriel Martinelli and William Saliba also considered contenders for the prize. 

However, respective odds of 12/1 and 14/1 with 10Bet show that neither player is likely to receive more picks than Saka.

William Saliba

Saliba made a strong start to the season after returning to the Emirates Stadium following various loan spells in France. 

He has made himself a mainstay in the heart of the defence, but not many centre-backs win this prize - the last was Tony Adams way back in 1987.

Martinelli was electric in the first half of the season, but he has slowed down a little since the turn of the year and would struggle to get as many votes as Saka.

Garnacho One For The Future But Unlikely To Win This Year

Manchester United’s Alejandro Garnacho has a bright future ahead of him.

Still just 18 years old, he has established himself as a prominent part of Man Utd’s first-team squad this season.

The Argentina Under-20 international is not yet a guaranteed starter at Old Trafford, but his speed, trickery and eye for goal make him a valuable part of Erik ten Hag’s group. 

United are a club that prides itself on giving youth a chance, and Garnacho has demonstrated he is more than ready to contribute at the highest level.

Yet for all his potential, it is safe to say the 40/1 shot with BetVictor is not going to be crowned PFA Young Player of the Year on this occasion.

Olise And Ramsey Among The Rank Outsiders For Award

Michael Olise has had his moments for Crystal Palace this season, not least by scoring a stunning free-kick against Manchester United.

But he is still not scoring enough goals for Patrick Vieira’s liking, and it is hard to see him coming through at 50/1 with betting apps to win the award.

Jacob Ramsey is another rank outsider at 66/1. The Aston Villa man has done very well to become a regular starter over the last couple of years, but he has not performed at the level of Saka or Haaland.