GAA Betting: The All-Ireland Football Championship: Dublin Still The Favourites

Author Image Article By Daire Walsh GDC - Icon - Black - Info
Date IconLast Updated: 
Share On Your Network
GAA Betting: The All-Ireland Football Championship: Dublin Still The Favourites
© PA

Now that the provincial championships are done and dusted, and the Sam Maguire Cup is about to kick into gear, the best betting sites are once again taking a look at the main contenders for the All-Ireland senior football championship title this summer.

Despite encountering a stubborn challenge from Louth at Croke Park on Sunday, Dublin claimed their 14th consecutive Leinster football crown with a 1-19 to 2-12 victory against the Wee County. 

While this game proved to be closer than most punters expected, it came as little surprise that the Ulster senior football championship final between Donegal and Armagh was such a close and tense battle.

Although they found themselves four points adrift of their opponents deep into the second half, Donegal rallied to ensure the showpiece decider went to extra-time at St Tiernach’s Park in Clones. 

They couldn’t be separated at the end of 90+ minutes of compelling action, but at the end of the ensuing penalty shootout, it was Armagh who came up short in an Ulster final for the second successive year.

Let's check out the latest odds on who will lift the Sam Maguire trophy at Croke Park on Sunday, July 28. 

2024 All-Ireland Football Championship Odds


Dublin Still Favourites For All-Ireland Glory

While there are some teams who won’t kick-start their All-Ireland senior football championship group campaigns until May 25, eight counties will be in action this coming Saturday. 

Given their most recent appearance was only last weekend, Dublin are one of those teams that will be idle until Saturday week.

Even though his side weren’t at their very best against Louth, Dublin boss Dessie Farrell will have been encouraged by the performances of key duo Brian Fenton and Con O’Callaghan.

The reigning All-Ireland champions will make a quick return to Croke Park for an All-Ireland SFC Group 2 clash against Roscommon, followed by subsequent meetings with Cavan and Mayo.

Dublin (6/4) are expected to come through this group with flying colours and though there are a number of challengers that we will look into, they remain favourites on new betting sites.

Kerry Also In The Shake-Up

Having recently earned their fourth Munster title on the bounce - and their 11th in just 12 seasons - Kerry are back in action with an All-Ireland Group 4 game at home to Monaghan on Saturday. 

In their showdowns with Cork and Clare in the southern province, the Kingdom came out on the right side of the result without necessarily being at the peak of their powers.

Yet in David Clifford and Sean O’Shea, Kerry have two of the best forwards in the game, and Clifford’s brother Paudie is another player who is capable of being a match-winner on his day.

At 5/2, Jack O’Connor’s men may not be the favourites for Sam Maguire glory, but they are viewed as the most viable candidates outside of Dublin.

Contenders Derry And Galway Clash This Weekend

Several weeks on from exiting the Ulster championship at the hands of eventual winners Donegal, National Football League Division One champions Derry will resume their 2024 season with a visit to Galway in Group 2 of the All-Ireland series.

The nature of their 4-11 to 0-17 provincial quarter-final reversal to Donegal may have raised some doubts, but it could yet prove to be a blessing in disguise for Mickey Harte’s side.

There is plenty of star quality within the Oak Leaf ranks with Shane McGuigan being as pivotal to their chances of success as David Clifford and Con O’Callaghan are for Kerry and Dublin respectively.

Third favourites at 6/1 on betting apps before the start of their Ulster campaign, Derry hold on to this position despite falling short in their quest for a third successive provincial triumph.

Derry's game at Pearse Stadium in Salthill this Saturday should prove to be a tasty affair as Galway are currently just behind them in the betting for the All-Ireland football championship. 

Having had a difficult year up to that point, the Tribesmen are in a much brighter mood as a consequence of winning a nail-biting Connacht final against local rivals Mayo last Sunday week.

Player of the match Damien Comer was excellent throughout and with John Maher, Matthew Tierney, Shane Walsh and Daniel O’Flaherty all making impacts off the bench, there was an added spark in Galway’s game.

As it stands, the westerners are 12/1 for a 10th All-Ireland senior football title in their history and they could make for an interesting outside bet.

Ulster Champions Donegal Also In The Reckoning

The same could be said of Donegal in the wake of their penalty shootout victory over Armagh in last weekend’s Ulster final. 

Back in the O’Donnell hot seat after a significant absence, Jim McGuinness has now guided his native county to a fourth provincial crown.

It remains to be seen if he will be able to repeat the All-Ireland success of 2012, but with the likes of Oisin Gallen, Paddy McBrearty and Jason McGee at his disposal, it would be foolish to completely rule them out. 

Ahead of an All-Ireland group clash with Tyrone on Saturday week, odds of 14/1 are available on GAA betting sites for a Donegal All-Ireland victory.

Mayo, Armagh And Tyrone Viewed As Championship Outsiders

Seen as a dark horse at best before their Connacht showdown with Galway, defeat in that game means there are some fresh doubts as to how far Mayo might go in this year’s championship. 

They will welcome Cavan to Castlebar this weekend and will be hoping for strong performances from Tommy Conroy, Ryan O’Donoghue and Aidan O’Shea to get their year back on track.

More often than not, Mayo find themselves at the business end of the All-Ireland championship, and they are rated as far out as 16/1 by some betting apps - including 888sport.

After suffering an astonishing fourth penalty shootout defeat in less than two years, there will be questions surrounding the mentality of Armagh ahead of their All-Ireland SFC Group 1 opener against Westmeath on Saturday, May 25. 

All-Ireland champions for the first and only time to date in 2002, the Orchard men are currently only rated at 16/1 to do so for a second time.

Sam Maguire Cup winners on no fewer than four occasions since that breakthrough by provincial rivals Armagh, Tyrone are viewed as rank outsiders for All-Ireland glory - despite securing top honours as recently as 2021. 

In advance of that aforementioned clash with Donegal, the Red Hand can be backed at 33/1.

Updated by GDC - Icon - Black - Info

Daire Walsh

Last Updated Icon

Last Updated:  

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linkedin Icon Email Icon Copy Link Icon