The All-Ireland Hurling 2024 Championship Odds: Limerick On Top Ahead Of Munster Final

Author Image Article By
Last Updated: 
Share On Your Network
The All-Ireland Hurling 2024 Championship Odds: Limerick On Top Ahead Of Munster Final
© PA

The best betting sites are once again examining who the main contenders are for All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship glory this summer.

Following a 2-27 to 1-24 defeat at the hands of Dublin in Pearse Stadium, Salthill last Sunday, Galway finished outside of the top-three in the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship table, and thus were eliminated from the Liam MacCarthy Cup. 

With Donal Burke amassing a personal haul of 1-10, Dublin booked their spot in a forthcoming provincial decider alongside Kilkenny.

Having squeezed past the Sky Blues in Parnell Park eight days earlier, Kilkenny had a single point to spare (1-24 to 2-20) against Wexford at Nowlan Park on Sunday. 

Despite this reversal, however, Wexford will now enter into an All-Ireland preliminary quarter-final.

This is also the destination for a resurgent Cork, who were idle last weekend, but were relieved to see some of the results go their way in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship.

Thanks to their respective triumphs against Waterford and Tipperary, Limerick and Clare will face off in a provincial final for the third year in succession. 

Whereas Tipp were already out of contention after only picking up one point from their opening three games, a 10-point defeat against Limerick also saw Waterford exiting the 2024 championship.

Eight teams remain in the Liam MacCarthy Cup, including Joe McDonagh Cup finalists Offaly and Laois, who are set to enter the All-Ireland Senior Championship at the preliminary quarter-final phase.

All-Ireland Hurling Championship 2024 Odds


Limerick Still Favourites For Another All-Ireland Title

At the other end of the spectrum, Limerick’s powerful display last Sunday against Waterford at the Gaelic Grounds helped to reaffirm that they are still the team to beat in 2024.

They did fall to a narrow reversal against Cork in their third game of the Munster round robin, but any fears that standards might be slipping within John Kiely’s set-up were emphatically eased.

With no fewer than 13 players getting their names on the scoresheet (including substitute Shane O’Brien, who finished with a 0-3 haul), Limerick emphatically overcame Waterford on a final score of 0-30 to 2-14.

Munster champions in each of the past five seasons, Limerick will have a chance to earn a sixth provincial crown on the bounce against Clare in Thurles on Sunday week in Thurles. 

They also have a fifth successive All-Ireland victory in their sights later this summer and they retain their status as clear favourites for this history-breaking honour.

It might seem incredible to think with so much hurling still left to play, but the Treaty are presently rated at 8/11 on betting apps.

Cork, Clare And Kilkenny Hard To Keep Apart 

While Limerick are well out in front in the eyes of bookmakers for another Liam MacCarthy success, it is intriguing to see how difficult it is to separate three of the remaining challengers to their throne.

After being on the verge of crashing out of the championship with back-to-back defeats against Waterford and Clare, Cork (9/2) gathered momentum by edging out Limerick and had 18 points to spare against Tipperary (4-30 to 1-21) in the Munster round-robin series.

With 4-37 to his name from four games in this year’s championship, the evergreen Patrick Horgan remains a vital cog for the Leesiders. He has been ably-assisted this year by Alan Connolly, who bagged a hat-trick of goals in the Tipp game and also rattled the net in their round one loss to Waterford.

Clare have reached the Munster final and the All-Ireland semi-final in each of the last two seasons and odds of 11/2 are available on GAA betting sites.

That could all change next month, however, as a Munster final win could have a galvanising effect for Brian Lohan’s men.

Kilkenny are the only unbeaten side remaining in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, although they drew with Galway and Carlow during the Leinster round robin (both of whom are now out of the championship).

Kilkenny aren’t a side that are prepared to go down without a fight and the Cats are available at 11/2.

The dead-ball prowess of TJ Reid was crucial in getting Kilkenny over the line against Wexford, and will be needed if they are to achieve Leinster and/or All-Ireland glory this year.

Dublin And Wexford Seen As Outsiders For All-Ireland Title

Dublin are now to only team that can stop Kilkenny claiming provincial honours in the east for a fifth consecutive year at Croke Park on June 8.

With two Leinster titles on his CV from a previous stint with his native Galway, Micheal Donoghue will have his adopted side primed for a big performance in GAA HQ.

This could well be within their reach, but a bid for All-Ireland success does seem like a bridge too far for Dublin (50/1). 

Odds of 33/1 are available for Wexford emerging from an upcoming preliminary quarter-final and going all the way in the competition’s final on July 21. 

Lee Chin has been in the form of his life for the Slaneysiders, but even though Conor McDonald and Rory O’Connor are also coming to the fore, a bid for All-Ireland supremacy might be beyond them for now.

Author Image Article By
Last Updated: 
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linkedin Icon Email Icon Copy Link Icon