Zandon a Narrow Morning-Line Favorite for Kentucky Derby

Date IconLast Updated: Sep 28th, 2022
Share On Your Network
Zandon a Narrow Morning-Line Favorite for Kentucky Derby
© USA Today
< class="grid-title">

Zandon was designated the narrow morning-line favorite for the Kentucky Derby on Saturday, which drew a full field of 20 3-year-olds.

The top three betting choices drew OK in the post position draw on Monday, especially Zandon (3-1), breaking from the middle of the field in post 10. 


Epicenter (7-2), who will vie for betting favoritism, drew post 3. Messier, the third choice on the morning line at 8-1, will start from post 6.

Late-running Mo Donegal (10-1) did not draw as well and will start from the dreaded No, 1 post, which has not produced a Kentucky Derby winner since 1986.

Trainers Brad Cox and Todd Pletcher each have three horses in the race. Cox, who belatedly won the 2021 Derby with Mandaloun after Medina Spirit was disqualified for a drug violation, has three of the outside-drawn horses: No. 16 Cyberknife (20-1), No. 18 Tawny Port (30-1) and No. 19 Zozos (20-1). 


Pletcher, who has won the Derby twice, sends out Mo Donegal, No. 8 Charge It (20-1) and No. 11 Pioneer of Medina (30-1).

The field underwent some changes earlier in the day when Rebel Stakes winner Un Ojo was not entered because of a foot bruise. He was replaced by the D. Wayne Lukas-trained Ethereal Road, the 50th horse Lukas has entered in the Run for the Roses. Lukas has four wins in the Derby, none since 1999.

Post positions were also drawn for Friday’s Kentucky Oaks for 3-year-old fillies, with Nest the slight 5-2 morning-line favorite over two unbeaten horses, Kathleen O. and Echo Zulu.


The 2022 Kentucky Derby field in post position order:


Position HorseTrainer RiderOdds
1 Mo Donegal Todd Pletcher Irad Ortiz, Jr.10-1
2 Happy JackDoug O'NeillRafael Bejarano30-1
3 Epicenter Steve AsmussenJoel Rosario7-2
4 Summer Is Tomorrow Bhupat Seemar Mickael Barzalona30-1
5 Smile Happy Kenneth McPeekCorey J. Lanerie20-1
6 Messier Koichi Shintani John R. Velazquez8-1
7 Crown Pride Todd Pletcher Christophe Lemaire20-1
8 Charge It Todd Pletcher Luis Saez20-1
9 Tiz the Bomb Kenneth McPeek Brian J. Hernandez, Jr.30-1
10 Zandon Chad C. BrownFlavien Prat3-1
11 Pioneer of Medina Todd PletcherJoe Bravo30-1
12 Taiba Tim Yakteen Mike Smith12-1
13 Simplification Antonio SanoJose L. Ortiz20-1
14 Barber Road John Alexander OrtizRey Luis Gutierrez 30-1
15 White Abarrio Saffie Joseph, Jr. Tyler Gaffalione10-1
16 Cyberknife Brad Cox Florent Geroux20-1
17 Classic Causway Brian Lynch Julien Leparoux30-1
18 Tawny Port Brad Cox Ricardo Santana30-1
19 Zozos Brad Cox Manuel Franco20-1
20 Ethereal Road D. Wayne LukasLuis Contreras30-1