Who Should You Bet on for Super Bowl MVP?

Date IconLast Updated: Oct 5th, 2023
Share On Your Network
Who Should You Bet on for Super Bowl MVP?
© USA Today

Patrick Mahomes facing off against Jalen Hurts in Super Bowl LVII  has multiple angles of historical significance. 

It marks the first time two black quarterbacks will start in the Super Bowl, and the combined age of Mahomes (27) and Hurts (24) makes the duo the youngest Super Bowl QB matchup, eclipsing Joe Montana’s and Dan Marino’s meeting in 1984.  

Mahomes was the third black quarterback to claim a Vince Lombardi trophy in 2020 and is attempting to become the first in NFL  history to win multiple Super Bowls. 

Washington’s Doug Williams was the first black quarterback to start and win a Super Bowl in 1988 and was followed by Seattle’s Russell Wilson in 2014.  

Super Bowl LVII MVP Betting 

With the Eagles a two-point favorite over the Chiefs in the Super Bowl, sportsbooks are giving Hurts the edge in MVP betting. Hurts is +110 to win the award at DraftKings, while Mahomes is at +130.  

Kansas City tight end Travis Kelce and Philadelphia wide receiver A.J. Brown are next on the list at +1000 each, while Philadelphia running back Miles Sanders (+2200) and wide receiver Devonta Smith (+2500) have the next-best odds. 

Super Bowl MVP History 

It’s not a surprise to see both quarterbacks listed as the betting favorites for Super Bowl MVP. The award has been given to a quarterback 31 times in the game’s history. Wide receivers have been selected eight times, and running backs have won the award in six instances.  

Los Angeles wide receiver Cooper Kupp was named Super Bowl MVP in last year’s game after tallying eight catches for 92 yards and two touchdowns.  

Sanders and Kansas City running back Isiah Pacheco (+3500) are attempting to be the first running backs to be named MVP since Denver’s Terrell Davis did it in 1998. Davis ran for 157 yards and three touchdowns on 30 carries to lead the Broncos to a victory in Super Bowl XXXII over the Green Bay Packers.  

Despite the dominance of quarterbacks with the award, Super Bowl MVP has been given to non-quarterbacks in four of the last nine Super Bowls. New England wide receiver Julian Edelman, Denver linebacker Von Miller and Seattle linebacker Malcolm Smith also won the award.  

The top betting Super Bowl MVP option for a defensive player at DraftKings is Philadelphia linebacker Haason Reddick (+3500), while Kansas City defensive lineman Chris Jones is at +4000.  

If Kelce can secure Super Bowl MVP, he would be the first tight end to do so.